Removing an Okta Verify Enrollment After Active Directory User Deletion
Last Updated:
Overview
Deleting a user account from Active Directory (AD) prevents users from removing an Okta Verify account directly from a device. The AD deletion severs the link between the Okta user profile and the AD user. Reset the authenticators from the Okta Admin Console to remove the Okta Verify enrollment.
Applies To
- Okta Verify
- Active Directory
- Android
- iOS
- macOS
- Windows
- Okta Identity Engine (OIE)
Cause
Deleting a user from AD severs the link between the Okta user profile and the AD user. This severed link prevents the removal of the Okta Verify enrollment directly from the device.
Solution
How is the Okta Verify enrollment removed?
Remove the Okta Verify enrollment by navigating to the user profile in the Okta Admin Console, accessing the more actions menu, and resetting the specific Okta Verify authenticator.
- Navigate to Directory > People in the Okta Admin Console.
- Search for and select the affected user.
- Select More Actions.
- Select Reset Authenticators.
- Select the specific Okta Verify enrollment to remove or choose to remove all authenticators.
- Select Reset to confirm.
