How to Re-Assign an Okta User as Part of a Group in an Application
Last Updated:
Overview
Reassign an Okta user as part of a group in an application by temporarily overriding the group assignment, unassigning the user, and converting an individual assignment back to a group assignment.
Applies To
- Okta Identity Engine (OIE)
- Okta Classic Engine
- Group Assignment
Solution
How is a user reassigned as part of a group in an application?
Reassign a user as part of a group in an application by overriding the group assignment, unassigning the user, reassigning the user individually, and converting the assignment back to a group assignment in the Admin Console.
NOTE: These steps do not apply to the Okta Everyone group because it is a permanent group that includes all users, and altering its membership or application membership is not possible. Attempting to use the Everyone group for application assignment renders these steps inapplicable.
- In the Okta Admin Console, navigate to Applications > Applications.
- Select the application that requires the reassignment.
- Select the Provisioning tab and select To App in the left pane.
- Ensure that Deactivate Users is disabled.
- Select the Assignments tab and locate the user.
- Select the Edit (pencil icon) button for the user assignment.
- Select Administrator (overrides group) and select Save.
- Select the X icon to unassign the user from the application.
- Select Assign > To People to assign the specific user back to the application. Choosing application roles or licenses during this assignment is unnecessary.
- Select Convert Assignments once the user is successfully reassigned.
- Select the users and select Convert Selected, or select Convert All if all listed users require conversion.
- Review the Assignments tab to ensure the user is back as part of the group assignment.
