Hi valued customers! It's nearing the end of the year, which means it's time to tidy things up – your yard, your personal finances, and your Okta org. You can now permanently delete a user from Okta. (short pause as it sinks in) Applause!
This has been a long-awaited feature, and I'm happy to announce that it is in early access (EA). This means that you can use it in production environments; it's fully supported. Just contact our support team to request the feature, and they will happily turn it on for you.
Deleting a user is useful in the following situations:
- You accidentally created a user and want to remove the account from Okta
- You want to reuse a previously created username
- You want to delete a username that has changed (perhaps because of marriage)
- You want to purge your Okta org of users who are no longer in your organization
- Before an account can be deleted, it must first be deactivated
- You can deactivate an account via the GUI or API
- Once a user account is deleted, an admin can create a new Okta user with the same user name as the deleted one
- The new user account will not be associated with the previously deleted user account
- For example, app or group assignments will be completely new
- Only the following admin roles can delete a user: Super admin, Org admin, and User admin
- The Okta system log retains past events that the deactivated user performed
- Log retains the last 6 months of activity
Using the Feature
An Okta account can be deleted via the UI or GUI.
To delete via the GUI:
- Log in to Okta as an administrator
- Find a deactivated user under Directory > People
- Select the user
- Click the Delete button
To delete via the API:
The user will irrevocably be removed from view after this call. Cleanup may happen asynchronously. Refer to the API docs (developer.okta.com) for more details.