Activation email sent when do not send email is checked.
We deactivated and attempted to delete a user in our Okta Preview page. It was determined that we were not going to deleted the user after all and we re-activated the end user in Okta. The end user informed us that they received an activation email. In our initial set up we checked the box that would prevent activation emails from being sent.
What would be the reason why the email was sent out when we have it set to not send activation emails out?
Hi Frank, Thank you for contacting okta support. When you initially activated the account was it an AD mastered account? After that you have deactivated the account and tried to activate it as Okta mastered in Okta dashboard--> People --> Deactivated tab, from there if you try to activate an account it will give you an option as below--
"Are you sure you want to activate Blaine Dockter? An activation email will be sent to this person informing them that their account is now active. You can edit the content of these emails on the customize email page."
Most likely one of the above options were chosen to activat teh account? The reason we send activation email to the second ativation process to make sure user can reset their password as previous password is no longer valid and its a security concern for the user account.
Please let me know if you have further question and concern in this regard.