Okta Preview Sandbox – Release 2017.10 Skip to main content
https://support.okta.com/help/oktaarticledetailpage?childcateg=&id=ka02a000000xakxsa0&source=documentation&refurl=http%3a%2f%2fsupport.okta.com%2fhelp%2fdocumentation%2fknowledge_article%2fokta-preview-sandbox-release-2017-10
How satisfied are you with the Okta Help Center?
Thank you for your feedback!
How satisfied are you with the Okta Help Center?
1
2
3
4
5
Very Dissatisfied
Very satisfied
Enter content less than 200 characters.
Okta Preview Sandbox – Release 2017.10
Published: Mar 8, 2017   -   Updated: Jun 22, 2018

Okta Preview Release 2017.10 began deployment on March 9. For the latest information on our release schedule, see Current Release Status.

Check the version number at the bottom of your Okta Administrator page to see your current version. Clicking the version number takes you directly to the folder containing the release notes.

User-added image

Version numbers indicate the year and week of the year that releases are pushed to orgs. For example, release 2017.01 was pushed the second week of 2017. The week numbers follow the ISO Week Date convention. 

Special Announcements

The Okta Release Notes have a new look!

Beginning with this release, we are moving to a new, interactive format. Our new design and functionality allows for clear navigation through all the elements you care about in Okta: Production and Preview, Early Access features, special announcements, and mobile releases. You can see a list of all the features in a release quickly and find all available Early Access features. Try them out at https://help.okta.com/en/prev/Content/Topics/ReleaseNotes/okta-rel-notes.htm.

Advance Notice: API Rate Limit Improvements

We are making org­-wide rate limits more granular, and treating authenticated end ­user interactions separately. More granular rate limits will further lessen the likelihood of calls to one URI impacting another. Treating authenticated end­ user interactions separately will lessen the chances of one user’s impacting another. We’re also providing a transition period so you can see what these changes will look like in your Okta system log before enforcing them:

  1. Shortly after February 28, 2017, we provided system log alerts to let you know if you exceeded any of these new API rate limits.

  2. Sometime in March, 2017, we’ll treat authenticated end ­user interactions on a per­-user basis. Interactions like SSO after login won’t apply to your org­wide API rate limits.

  3. Shortly after March 31, 2017, we will enforce the new, more granular rate limits. At that point, the warnings in the System Log will change to error notifications.

Of course, as each change is released, we’ll announce the change in the Platform Release Notes on http://developer.okta.com.

For a full description of the rate limit changes, see API Rate Limit Improvements.  

Browser plugin phased rollout

On February 20, 2017, Okta began a phased Generally Available (GA) release of Okta browser plugin version 5.11.x for all supported browsers. We've postponed our plan to complete the rollout on March 7, 2017. The new target is April 1, 2017. This version provides security enhancements. Okta strongly recommends that you install the plugin when prompted to do so. If you have any questions or concerns following the upgrade, contact Okta Support. For version history, see Browser Plugin Version History.

New Okta Sign-In Experience to be enabled for all remaining Production orgs

We've postponed our plan to automatically enable the New Okta Sign-In Experience by February 15, 2017 for the remaining Production orgs that have not enabled it yet. Our new target is April 1, 2017. In the meantime, we recommend that you enable the feature at your convenience to let your users become familiar with it. If you have any questions, please contact Okta Support.

What's New

Unless otherwise noted, these features are available for all organizations with release 2017.10.

  • We have introduced a new Atlassian Cloud app integration that supports SAML for both JIRA Cloud and Confluence Cloud. In order to use SAML you will need to:

    • Switch your JIRA/Confluence Cloud tenants to Atlassian Account.

    • Switch to the Atlassian Cloud app integration in Okta.

    For details, see How to Configure SAML 2.0 for Atlassian Cloud.

  • As part of Okta's Section 508 Compliance, links and buttons in certain areas of the Okta service are now illuminated when they're in focus. For more information about focus changes, see Testing HTML for Section 508 Compliance.
  • To harmonize with Google's plans to EOL the Divide Productivity app suite, we are now pre-configuring Gmail for Android for Work profiles on OMM-enrolled devices. For more information, see here.

Platform Release Notes

Changes to the platform for this release are published in the Platform Release Notes on http://developer.okta.com.

Application Update

We've implemented SWA for the following Okta Verified application:

  • LoansPQ (OKTA-116896)

 

We've added the following Mobile application for use with Okta Mobility Management (OMM) (Android and iOS):

  • Zoom (OKTA-116961)

 

Bug Fixes

Bug numbers ending with an H are hotfixes. Hotfixes are typically deployed after the initial release.

Product Bug Fixes

The following issues are fixed:

  • OKTA-115175 – Read-only admins and Mobile admins had access to an invalid navigation link.
  • OKTA-117259 – When users requested access for a bookmark app they received a 500 internal server error message.
  • OKTA-115205 – Some Microsoft Office 365 WS-FED events were incorrectly logged as policy errors.
  • OKTA-116869 – RightNow CX provisioning failed with an HTTP transport error.
  • OKTA-114241 – Assigning users to an app sometimes failed when the locale attribute contained an underscore. 
  • OKTA-116873 – Users were not properly imported into the Kickboard app from a CSV file.
  • OKTA-97702 – Some News UK users received Google license errors.
  • OKTA-115419 – Provisioning users to the Verecho app failed.
  • OKTA-116655 – All groups were not visible when adding or editing groups.

App Integrations Fixes

The following SWA apps were not working correctly and are now fixed:

  • PhotoBucket (OKTA-117940)

  • Soundcloud (OKTA-117941)

The following SAML app was not working correctly and is now fixed:

  • Pilgrim SmartSolve (OKTA-113317)