Clearing an End-User's Session Skip to main content
https://support.okta.com/help/oktaarticledetailpage?childcateg=&id=ka0f00000005rgikay&source=documentation&refurl=http%3a%2f%2fsupport.okta.com%2fhelp%2fdocumentation%2fknowledge_article%2fkilling-an-end-user-session
How satisfied are you with the Okta Help Center?
Thank you for your feedback!
How satisfied are you with the Okta Help Center?
1
2
3
4
5
Very Dissatisfied
Very satisfied
Enter content less than 200 characters.
Average Rating:
Clearing an End-User's Session
Published: Dec 8, 2015   -   Updated: Nov 18, 2016

Please note: this page is no longer being updated and may not show current information.

Inevitably, a number of Okta end-users will report their mobile device or laptop has been compromised or lost/stolen. You may similarly detect a breach without end-user notification. The security risk is that a malicious user can potentially gain access to your corporate data. In such cases, you'll need to clear sessions for that end-user. The Clear User Sessions feature provides a quick and easy way to immediately clear an end-user's session.

To clear a user's sessions, do the following:

  1. From the People page, find the user.
  2. Scroll down to click the user link.
  3. On the user's profile page, find the More Actions button.
  4. From the More Actions drop-down menu, choose Clear User Sessions, as shown below.
User-added image

This action clears all active Okta sessions for the selected end-user. This event is reported within System Logs, noting that all sessions were cleared for the affected user.

Post a Comment

Comments

  • Sourabh Jha on December 19, 2017

    Is there any way to perform this using a script ?