Disconnecting Users From Active Directory Skip to main content
https://support.okta.com/help/oktaarticledetailpage?childcateg=&id=ka0f0000000ay1wkag&source=documentation&refurl=http%3a%2f%2fsupport.okta.com%2fhelp%2fdocumentation%2fknowledge_article%2f28424268-disconnecting-users-from-active-directory
How satisfied are you with the Okta Help Center?
Thank you for your feedback!
How satisfied are you with the Okta Help Center?
1
2
3
4
5
Very Dissatisfied
Very satisfied
Enter content less than 200 characters.
Disconnecting Users From Active Directory
Published: Jan 10, 2015   -   Updated: Jun 22, 2018

You can disconnect users who were imported from Active Directory (AD) so that they become native Okta users. This is helpful when it is necessary to directly edit user fields such as an email address or to prevent updates from being automatically synced from AD. 

To do this, perform the following steps:

  1. From your Administrator Dashboard, select People.

  2. Click the Disconnect from Active Directory button, select the users you want to disconnect, then click the Disconnect Selected button. To disconnect all users from AD, click the Disconnect All button.

  3. In the Disconnect user from Active Directory dialog box, decide if you'd like to reset the the disconnected users' passwords and then click Disconnect People. If you don't reset passwords, the users are locked out of Okta and are unable to sign into Okta with their AD credentials.

To switch users back to being AD mastered, reimport them to link their Okta accounts to their AD accounts.